Is Headspace Worth the Money?

Hi guys! Happy Patriots Day to everyone in Massachusetts I hope you are all enjoying the nice weather!

I have always been interested in mindfulness; I have been doing yoga since I was a kid and in more recent years have gotten interested in meditation. Much to my delight over the past few years mindfulness and health of the mind in general have become very trendy. So trendy in fact that things like Headspace, an app that has guided meditations on it, now exists! Over the past ten days I have tried out Headspace. They give you ten days free to get you going, but after that you have to subscribe. Today I am going to share with you my experience using Headspace and my thoughts on if it is worth the money!

 

First I will give you a run down on how each day’s meditation went. They were all ten minutes long and the app recommends you do them sitting in a chair at the same time every day. I will share with you when I did my meditations (my goal was 10 pm), where I did them, and then my thoughts after completing each one.

 

Day 1:

Time: 11:30 pm

Location: Lying in bed

Thoughts: My time and location are both off today because it was my first time and I didn’t realize that you were supposed to be sitting and all that. I don’t really think that it affected my meditation that much anyways. I was really tense at the start, but by the end I was sleepy and my mind was drifting a lot. I was definitely more relaxed after, and the ten minutes went by faster than I thought.

 

Day 2:

Time 10:00 pm

Location: In a cushioned chair

Thoughts: I was anxious the whole way through this meditation. I was doing work when I got the notification to meditate so although it did relax my body and clear my mind a little, it also stressed me because I wanted to get back to doing what I needed to. I was very ready for it to be done when it was.

Day 3:

Time: 10:50 pm

Location: Kitchen chair

Thoughts: I almost quit 30 seconds in to this one. I had a lot on my mind so it was very difficult, but I stuck with it. Again I was definitely ready for it to be done when it was.

 

Day 4:

Time: 10:50 pm

Location: Cushioned chair

Thoughts: I was super tired when I did this one so my mind was definitely drifting a lot and I was close to sleep a lot of the time. It went by fast though!

 

Day 5:

Time: 1:00 am

Location: Sitting in bed, then chair in gym

Thoughts: I actually started this one in bed but was way too full of energy so I went and worked out for 20 minutes to clear my mind and then restarted the practice. Despite the rough start it ended up being one of my better times! I felt very calm afterwards.

Day 6:

Time: 11:30 pm

Location: Desk chair

Thoughts: A good practice; it went by really fast and I felt really calm after. I was better at focusing and not getting frustrated by the practice which was good.

Day 7:

Time: 11:30 pm

Location: Desk chair

Thoughts: It definitely took work just to show up for this meditation as I was really tired and mostly just wanted to sleep. However, I did feel calmer afterwards and enjoyed the sense that I was taking time to do something good for myself.

 

Day 8:

Time: 10:50 pm

Location: Desk chair

Thoughts: I was very stressed out going into this one. I came out still stressed, but with a little more clarity. Surprisingly this session went by really fast too.

 

Day 9:

Time: 10:00

Location: Desk chair

Thoughts: Although I was stressed and tired I impressed myself during this meditation by not being too driftey or having too much of an overactive mind. Surprised I only have one day left of this, time flies!

Day 10:

Time: 10:50

Location: Desk chair

Thoughts: I was very tired this day so my mind drifted a ton, but I felt very calm afterwards and proud I had done all 10 days!

 

 

Final thoughts:

I am really happy I did the ten days. I think it gave me some good perspective on how active my mind can be at times. That being said, I don’t think it is worth money to subscribe and I won’t be myself. You can find lots of guided meditations online nowadays, although Headspace and nice and has a cool interface I don’t think that makes their monthly payments worth it. I hope you all enjoyed this and I would encourage everyone to try meditation, through Headspace or not!

 

 

One thought on “Is Headspace Worth the Money?

Leave a Reply

